Show site search form

Health Ministers tour Albury Wodonga Regional Hospital site

NSW Minister for Regional Health Ryan Park and Victorian Health Minister Mary-Anne Thomas toured the Albury Hospital campus, where planning is progressing to deliver a major hospital redevelopment to service communities on both sides of the NSW and Victoria border.

The NSW Government and Victorian Government engaged in a cross-border partnership to invest in a contemporary, sustainable health facility that will significantly expand and enhance health care services to meet the needs of the Albury, Wodonga and border communities now, and into the future.  

The redeveloped Albury Wodonga Regional Hospital will be the first major step in creating a centre of excellence for the whole community. The infrastructure investment will make it easier for border communities to access and receive care. 

The health hub on the current Albury Hospital campus will also provide a modern environment that will help attract, train and retain healthcare workers for the region.  

The Albury Hospital campus will optimise recent upgrades undertaken at the site including the Albury Wodonga Regional Cancer Centre and the new and expanded Emergency Department and Short Stay Unit which is currently underway. 

Over 1,000 staff, volunteers, patients, community members, local councils and health agencies participated in various consultation activities and sessions to inform the planning process. 

Early consultation delivered valuable feedback around the hospital’s design, location on the campus, parking and access to the hospital, education and training opportunities, and workforce management. 

There will be further opportunities for staff and the community to participate in shaping the design of the new hospital. 

The project is being delivered by Health Infrastructure in partnership with Albury Wodonga Health, the NSW Ministry of Health, the Victorian Health Building Authority and the Victorian Department of Health. The Albury Campus Redevelopment project is jointly funded by the NSW and Victorian Governments and the Australian Government.

Back to the top of this page